Image

Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Need some help or advice on how to set up a mobile. This is the place to ask.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Guardsman
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 04 June 2015, 19:21 PM
Radio: Ranger RCI 2970N2
Antenna: Sirio Performer 5000
Name: Joel Jennings
Cell Phone: 502-330-3520

Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by Guardsman » Wednesday, 05 July 2017, 18:38 PM

Earlier I asked about grounding an antenna connected to a park mount from Jerry on the trunk of my 2013 accord. I have destroyed that mount trying to get ground wires attached. The only option I see you left is to drill a hole and mount a puck on the roof. Can I do this if I have both a moon window and a Sirius XM antenna also on the roof? If I can do it, what would I ground to first for an antenna coming down from the center of my roof? Sorry for so many questions today. I'm trying to get a good antenna and coax set up so I can upgrade to a higher power radio. I appreciate everyone's help.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image


User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5825
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by jessejamesdallas » Wednesday, 05 July 2017, 20:28 PM

If you drill a hole for something like a puck mount, or gum-drop type mount, you don't need to run a ground wire to anything...The mount will ground to the roof when installed...

Just be sure to remove the headliner first to see what's under there before randomly drilling a hole...
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
Guardsman
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 04 June 2015, 19:21 PM
Radio: Ranger RCI 2970N2
Antenna: Sirio Performer 5000
Name: Joel Jennings
Cell Phone: 502-330-3520

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by Guardsman » Thursday, 06 July 2017, 4:56 AM

Thank you for the reply JesseJamesDallas. Is there a reason that would be true for the roof and not for the trunk lid? I am so lost right now.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image

User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5825
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by jessejamesdallas » Thursday, 06 July 2017, 8:55 AM

Some trunk lids are not metal, but rather a plastic composite stuff...Those you would need a ground strap... another problem with some trunk lids that are metal, is because of the way the trunks hinges are put on the lid has a poor ground...

Instead of running a ground off the mount, if it were me I would attach flat ground braid to each corner of the lid using self tapping screws, then the other end of the braid to the support pillers (or body) to get a better ground for the lid...

Another problem with trunk-lid mounts is if it has set screws that hold it to the lid, you would need to scrap off the paint where those set screws hit...Otherwise the paint can insulate the mount from getting a good ground.

[ Post made via Samsung Galaxy S5 Active ] Image
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5825
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by jessejamesdallas » Thursday, 06 July 2017, 9:19 AM

Another thing with the antenna mount to consider, is where the antenna screws in...that part should NOT be grounded... There's allot of different mounts, most will have a plastic washer that is used between the top part of the mount and the metal surface to keep from grounding the antenna out when screwed on...

[ Post made via Samsung Galaxy S5 Active ] Image
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.




User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7472
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPhone
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by MDYoungblood » Monday, 10 July 2017, 18:43 PM

So how did things turn out?

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
Guardsman
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 04 June 2015, 19:21 PM
Radio: Ranger RCI 2970N2
Antenna: Sirio Performer 5000
Name: Joel Jennings
Cell Phone: 502-330-3520

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by Guardsman » Friday, 29 June 2018, 8:16 AM

Well, one year later I started from scratch. Drilled a hole in the roof for a Wilson 1000 antenna connected to a Ranger 2970N4. Setup is working great. No issues with grounding or standing wave. Thanks for everyone's replies!

User avatar
silvereagle1
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1698
Joined: Sunday, 23 June 2013, 15:55 PM
Radio: President Lincoln 2
Antenna: Sirio Turbo 5000
Name: Mark
Cell Phone: --------------
Location: Knoxville

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by silvereagle1 » Friday, 06 July 2018, 9:27 AM

I hole mount everything. Don’t like mags or trunklip mounts although I am forced to use at least one trunklip mount Due to HF size. I traded my 16 Nissan in last March which had two holes drilled didn’t effect the the trade In whatsoever. As soon as I got my new car home I drilled two more holes.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
President Lincoln 2
Sirio Turbo 5000 Roof Mount
567 East Tennessee



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7472
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPhone
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 06 July 2018, 9:38 AM

silvereagle1 wrote:
Friday, 06 July 2018, 9:27 AM
I hole mount everything. Don’t like mags or trunklip mounts although I am forced to use at least one trunklip mount Due to HF size. I traded my 16 Nissan in last March which had two holes drilled didn’t effect the the trade In whatsoever. As soon as I got my new car home I drilled two more holes.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
That was what I was told by the dealer when I traded in my Dodge Ram pickup, he said they are going to offer you the bottom line anyway.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
silvereagle1
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1698
Joined: Sunday, 23 June 2013, 15:55 PM
Radio: President Lincoln 2
Antenna: Sirio Turbo 5000
Name: Mark
Cell Phone: --------------
Location: Knoxville

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by silvereagle1 » Friday, 06 July 2018, 15:05 PM

When I went I wasn’t looking to trade. I was there for an oil change. Was curious about the newer model with automatic trans. the salesman looked my car over and said everything looks good. I asked him what about my antennas where I drilled holes. He said that’s not an issue. Walked out with the newer model and like you said. You’re getting what they’re gonna give anyway. I’m a big believer in drilling holes. Mag mounts only scratch the paint. Metal particles get under magnets and destroy paint over time. This car I have now had ten miles on it when I drilled my first two holes. I didn’t blink an eye doing it. Have the Larsen antenna hole drilled. The sirio hole drilled and the diamond HF 𝐀𝐧𝐭𝐞𝐧𝐧𝐚 Mount trunklip Mounted due to height and weight issues.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
President Lincoln 2
Sirio Turbo 5000 Roof Mount
567 East Tennessee



User avatar
Russ
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 61
Joined: Saturday, 11 November 2006, 20:08 PM
Location: NA
Referrals: 1
Contact:

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by Russ » Saturday, 07 July 2018, 3:50 AM

Drill it and you will never regret it!!!

User avatar
Guardsman
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 04 June 2015, 19:21 PM
Radio: Ranger RCI 2970N2
Antenna: Sirio Performer 5000
Name: Joel Jennings
Cell Phone: 502-330-3520

Re: Disregard previous question. Decided to drill hole in roof....maybe

Post by Guardsman » Thursday, 12 July 2018, 8:19 AM

I will never hesitate to drill a hole again. I've wasted tons of time and money trying to get a good setup without drilling and it just isn't worth it. From now one every new car will have a hole drilled immediately. In fact, I might do it while I'm on the test drive then see if I can negotiate a lower price! :lol: :lol:


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests