Image

Dual Alternators On A Big Truck

This section is about Keydown Competition rigs or high performance competition base setups. If you have questions or information on how to maximize a competition setup, this is the place !

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Brotherman
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 84
Joined: Friday, 18 May 2007, 20:15 PM
Location: Near an Amish farm in PA

Dual Alternators On A Big Truck

Post by Brotherman » Monday, 04 February 2008, 6:06 AM

Buying an 07 peterbilt and when the time comes I want to run a separate charging system for an AC box. KIdd do guys do this down your way?


User avatar
ww228kidd
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1001
Joined: Monday, 08 October 2007, 14:11 PM

Post by ww228kidd » Tuesday, 05 February 2008, 15:07 PM

I havent installed any AC boxes in a rig. But there is a few guys on the road that have. Big Bill from NC does most of the welding bracket for alternators. It should be the same as a suburban if you have room for the transformers and alternator. And I hope that you own the rig, because there will be alot of grounding and cutting to run wires and meters switches.

User avatar
Brotherman
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 84
Joined: Friday, 18 May 2007, 20:15 PM
Location: Near an Amish farm in PA

Post by Brotherman » Tuesday, 05 February 2008, 17:10 PM

Cool! It'll be the banks truck until I pay it off. It has a sleeper, so I'm good with room. Not sure how the electronics will react to the RF though. I didn't think about that part. :shock:

User avatar
ww228kidd
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1001
Joined: Monday, 08 October 2007, 14:11 PM

Post by ww228kidd » Tuesday, 05 February 2008, 17:15 PM

i would start off with a good 8pill to see how it acts...

User avatar
Pillpopper
Donor
Donor
Posts: 258
Joined: Monday, 01 October 2007, 18:10 PM
Location: Northern, VA

Post by Pillpopper » Wednesday, 06 February 2008, 9:54 AM

Use that 8 pill as a baby driver 8) HAHA..


User avatar
linearone
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 163
Joined: Tuesday, 25 November 2008, 10:09 AM
Referrals: 1

Post by linearone » Tuesday, 09 December 2008, 5:53 AM

that wont be easy to run an ac box in a big truck, you wont be able to get the rpm on the alts when you need them.
dc will be your cup of coffee

User avatar
Watermelonman53
Donor
Donor
Posts: 476
Joined: Friday, 01 February 2008, 1:16 AM

Post by Watermelonman53 » Tuesday, 09 December 2008, 11:47 AM

I OWN A 2002 379 PETERBILT. IT HAS A 600 CAT. I'VE TOYED WITH THE IDEA OF AN A/C BOX TOO. THE RPM ISSUE IS ONE THING. THE FIRST 100000 MILES I WOULDNT DO ANYTHING LIKE THAT BECAUSE IT WILL VOID ALL YOUR INITIAL PACCAR WARRANTY. ALSO THAT MUCH RF MAY VERY WELL HAVE AN EFFECT ON THE ENGINES COMPUTER.
NOW THERE IS AN ALTERNATOR THAT YOU CAN BUY BUT IT VERY VERY PRICEY. I GOT ONE OFF A WRECKED FIRE TRUCK . THEY ARE SPECIAL PURPOSE ALTENATORS BUILT TO WITHSTAND THE BIG AMP DEMAND THAT A FIRETRUCK WITH ALL THE LIGHTS AND SIRENS ETC THAT THEY USE. I HAVE A 350 AMP MYSELF AND AM TOLD THERE IS A 400AMP MODEL ALSO. YOU PRETTY MUCH WANNA FIND A USED ONE AND HAVE NEW BRUSHES ETC. YOU ALMOST HAV VE TO PUT A 2ND MORTGAGE ON YOUR HOUSE TO BUY ONE OUTRIGHT ($2G's list). I'VE BEEN RUNNING A 2X4 FOR A WHILE BUT I NOW PUTTING A 2X8 IN AND ANOTHER MAN I KNOW ALSO RUNS ONE AND HAS NO ISSUES WITH HIS AS FAR AS RF ISSUES ETC.
OH .....WHERE YOU FROM?? LANCASTER ?? EAST EARL?? ?? I GOT FAMILY THERE AND USE TO LIVE THERE MANY YEARS BACK.
Get Hacked and be heard like crap.......from 15Mhz-60Mhz



User avatar
linearone
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 163
Joined: Tuesday, 25 November 2008, 10:09 AM
Referrals: 1

Post by linearone » Tuesday, 09 December 2008, 20:14 PM

no, you cant run an ac box at least not well in a big truck, im sure it could happen but it wont be the baddest. besides you would have to shift into neutral to use it,
you will have to stick with DC. the biggest affordable dc alt is the leece neville 4890JB 320 amps, you can externally regulate it if you like. yeah you can get biger ones like electrodynes but no one can afford to buy them new.

User avatar
Brotherman
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 84
Joined: Friday, 18 May 2007, 20:15 PM
Location: Near an Amish farm in PA

Post by Brotherman » Friday, 19 December 2008, 21:29 PM

Watermelonman, I never did get that truck, a buddy of mine was selling it at a good price but the banks were being snooty. I live in honey brook... for now. Where are you at and is that your truck in your avatar? You need to join l a r g e c a r m a g . c o m. :D

Linearone, I've heard a few guys in DX running an AC box in their big truck. I guess they could have been telling stories... for get the shifting in neutral, thats what the clutch pedal is for, come ohwan


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests