Image

2 pin microphone plug

This area is dedicated to talk about tube radios, or amplifiers.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Sunday, 20 March 2016, 16:41 PM

Was surfing the bay and decided to get an old tube radio. I picked up a Hallicrafters Model CB-3A. I know it will be a lot of work to get going again but all the tubes are reasonable for the unit. Now looking at the pics it looks like it has a 2 pin microphone connection. My question is "Can you convert a 4 pin to a 2 pin?"




User avatar
Lost Ram
Donor
Donor
Posts: 925
Joined: Tuesday, 22 September 2009, 7:46 AM
Radio: Yaesu FT-991
Antenna: 700' Loop
Name: Kerry
Location: In the Bayou
Referrals: 1
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by Lost Ram » Sunday, 20 March 2016, 16:59 PM

Not sure what 4 pin you have. Example of an old standard d104, black and red are used for ptt, shield and white are audio if I am not mistaken, for isolation you can hook the ptt ground and audio shield together. This is just off the top of my head, you might want to look a wire diagram to be sure.


CB: TRC-450, Imax@50'
Ham : Yaesu FT-857D, FT-897D, FT-990 and FT-991, FT-8900
Ham Antennas: 700' and 258' wire loop, Maco shooting Star tuned for 10 Meter, 250' doublet, 8E 2M Quad-SSB, 4E 2M Quad-FM, 2M Copper Slim Jim 2M omni.
"The two enemies of the people are criminals and government. So let us tie the second down with the chains of the Constitution so that the second will not become the legal version of the first."
Thomas Jefferson.

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Sunday, 20 March 2016, 17:24 PM

Old tubers are be fun to restore or they can make you lose your hair early in life whih was my case. Here is a good start,

http://www.oldtuberadio.com/data/Hallic ... _p5-12.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I wouldn't change out the plug, wire the new mic up for the radio, if you need help finding a plug I'm sure they are around. The radio is relay switching so the RX wire is not used, tell us what mic you want to wire and we can pin it out for you.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Sunday, 20 March 2016, 17:45 PM

The mic i think I will be using is an old Cobra 4 pin (easy to come by). I should be receiving the unit around friday, I can't wait. BTW, thanks for that link!!!

Also and good cleaning tips for the old tubers. I want this one to look nice inside and out.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Sunday, 20 March 2016, 17:57 PM

An old Cobra mic will work, just don't hook up whatever color wire is on pin 4. Cleaning up the inside, I would blow the dust out of it and maybe use a small paint brush to loosen any debris, not a lot you can do if it's got any rot/rust. If you have to use water, use only distilled, there aren't any minerals that can cause a short, blow it off and let it dry thoroughly. I wouldn't use any kind of cleaner on the face plate, it would probably wash the print off.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department


User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by PA629 » Monday, 21 March 2016, 5:11 AM

An old "Belly-Scratcher" CB-3A. When I was just a kid it was my first ever CB radio o/t than walkie-talkies, bought it used from a local business who was replacing their tube-type mobile rigs with "them thar new-fangled transistor things....". :lol: This was back around 1964 or so. Had a lot of fun with that old 8-channel rig. There was a retired guy who lived a mile or so away from me who was a Browning dealer, he showed me how to do some basic tuning on it, and I got my 2-pin mic plugs from him, seems the Brownings used the same plug, IIRC. Good luck restoring yours. :icon_e_wink:


Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879

User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5836
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by jessejamesdallas » Monday, 21 March 2016, 6:17 AM

Check around on the auction bay, there's probably a 2 pin to 4 pin adapter avalible so you don't need to rewire anything.


Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Monday, 21 March 2016, 11:50 AM

Believe it or not the radio is here already. The best part, it has two addons, one in each slot. The one right of the channel indicator is a dial that is numbered 1-8 and in the lest spot is a dial numbered 1-23. My question now is, how do I activate the vfo and what is the 1-8 dial used for?

The unit does power up, no magic smoke. There is a lot to be done, the power plug is a little loose and the knob need a good cleaning.

One last question. Does the mic need to be plugged in for receive to work? I put a dummy load on another cb and keyed channel 11 and the radio speaker did click. But no static just sitting there hooked to an antenna with squelsh turned off.

Thanks for all the help guys!!!!!!!



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Monday, 21 March 2016, 13:07 PM

No it doesn't need a mic to receive.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 8:19 AM

Well I was able to power the radio up and I'm getting receive. :) It comes and goes so I need to do some cleaning, but a great first step. The mic plug I ordered was female :( , so I need to change the plug in the radio. I can't find any 2 pin male mic plugs. Will post progress as I go.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:05 AM

I guess change it to a regular 4 pin and wire it so any Cobra, Uniden, Galaxy 4 pin mic would work. I did that to a lot of odd ball brand radios in the past so you could go and buy a mic right off the shelf and plug it in. You will probably need some DeoxIt for the pot's and recapping is the next step. The big filter caps are most likely dried up, that is why the receive is wondering.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:08 AM

Will this work for cleaning the dials http://www.homedepot.com/p/CRC-2-26-5-o ... /100398344" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:12 AM

Hmm, use that very sparingly. Is this the mic plug you need to keep the radio original?
Image

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:17 AM

Nope, it needs to be male. Can't seem to find one anywhere.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7510
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:27 AM

Maybe a pic would give me an idea what it looks like, yes would be best to change it since they can't be found. I've been looking for a mic plug to fit a Icom Marine radio (M-700) for years, Icom doesn't even sell it in their parts list.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 9:50 AM

Needs to look like this one;
Image

(edited by MDY, removed link and added pic)



User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1369
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by sonoma » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 10:15 AM

. I bought one a couple years ago

Cobracon I sent you a PM for a place that had them 2 years ago. I bought one then



User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 10:27 AM

sonoma wrote:. I bought one a couple years ago

Cobracon I sent you a PM for a place that had them 2 years ago. I bought one then
Thanks! I think I'll just change the radio connection. I ordered a male connector for the radio to soldier in. Now I need to start the cleaning and see whats going on with the caps.



User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by PA629 » Saturday, 26 March 2016, 22:37 PM

I'm almost positive I have 1 or 2 of them around here. I looked where they SHOULD have been, but no dice. There's an outside chance they could be at my old house in town, I'll check this week if I get a chance.


Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Sunday, 27 March 2016, 16:01 PM

PA629 wrote:I'm almost positive I have 1 or 2 of them around here. I looked where they SHOULD have been, but no dice. There's an outside chance they could be at my old house in town, I'll check this week if I get a chance.
Yeah these things are getting hard to find.



User avatar
443 Arizona
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 667
Joined: Thursday, 29 April 2010, 13:22 PM
Radio: madison on 5/8 wave
Location: phoenix, arizona

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by 443 Arizona » Sunday, 27 March 2016, 18:49 PM

ya know i dont think its possible to just put in a 4 pin jack.
there are 2 other switches that have to be thrown manually, and i think there are alot of interconnected wires doing other sorts of things.
the 2 pin mike is basically wired "live" and when you flip the other switches, you engage the mic.
might even be more than that,
it has been so many years i dont remember



User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by PA629 » Monday, 28 March 2016, 2:59 AM

cobracon2 wrote:
PA629 wrote:I'm almost positive I have 1 or 2 of them around here. I looked where they SHOULD have been, but no dice. There's an outside chance they could be at my old house in town, I'll check this week if I get a chance.
Yeah these things are getting hard to find.

Like I said before, IIRC the old Browning Eagle bases used the same plugs, and there certainly are a lot of Browning collectors out there. Maybe one of the techs who work on the old tubers (like **Censored** Elect.) would have one they'd part with.


Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879

User avatar
bluemeanie
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 341
Joined: Thursday, 01 November 2012, 20:11 PM
Radio: LOTS OF TUBES
Antenna: Max 2000 MACO M105
Name: Mark Schwab
Home Phone: 9706253581
Cell Phone: 9709489991
Location: western colorado
Contact:

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by bluemeanie » Wednesday, 01 June 2016, 20:13 PM

Theres a well known guy that has a lot of Browning and tram parts. He has the plugs same as older brownings hali and some audio equipment. Check the auction site too. Covering on a tree.


Image

User avatar
cobracon2
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 28
Joined: Saturday, 13 February 2016, 9:53 AM
Radio: Cobra 139
Name: Robert
Location: Michigan

Re: 2 pin microphone plug

Post by cobracon2 » Friday, 03 June 2016, 7:40 AM

Thanks for the heads up. I have the parts now. But my fiancee is 39 weeks pregnant. So I haven't had much time to work on the radio yet. I did manage to give it a good cleaning and even had it receiving once. Looks like I need to change out those old bumble bee caps. Just need to sit down and figure out all the values that I am going to need. That's going to take a bit since I need to learn how to read the values.




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic