Image

Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

This is the place to post your general tips, or need to have a question on your install here.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
RoyInNaptown
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 3
Joined: Sunday, 21 December 2014, 19:34 PM
Radio: Yaesu
Antenna: Loop
Name: Roy Wood
Cell Phone: 410-320-3222

Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by RoyInNaptown » Saturday, 27 December 2014, 14:22 PM

I picked up a couple slide mounts on eBay. I loved these things back in the 70's for quickly removing/installing the radio in the car. Looking at the design now I'm wondering if using one of these would result in some level of signal loss, and if so would it be more than a negligible amount. I'm think there would be some due to the fact that they introduce an inch or so of un-shielded cable by virtue of the copper contacts for the antenna.

I can testify that there is no negative affect on SWR. Just wondering if signal loss could be an issue. Opinions?


User avatar
Slyguy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3692
Joined: Sunday, 03 October 2010, 20:23 PM
Radio: Kenwood, Yaesu, Icom
Antenna: Yes
Name: Sly
Location: Sherman TX
Referrals: 1

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by Slyguy » Saturday, 27 December 2014, 14:35 PM

I would say there will be some but probably not noticeable. Hook up a watt meter just after the radio, before the mount. Then do the same thing after the mount and see what you get.
Slyguy
Zero Six Three
Sherman Texas

Official Moderator - CBRT Complaints Department
We encourage all users to support our sponsors. We believe our sponsors are the best out there.
Be sure to tell them you saw their name on CBRadioTalk.
Support our fine sponsors!



User avatar
RoyInNaptown
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 3
Joined: Sunday, 21 December 2014, 19:34 PM
Radio: Yaesu
Antenna: Loop
Name: Roy Wood
Cell Phone: 410-320-3222

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by RoyInNaptown » Saturday, 27 December 2014, 16:07 PM

Wattmeter test shows no change going through the mount vs direct. On the air testing shows no perceptible difference either way. I should probably stop tilting at this particular windmill. :)

User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5808
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by jessejamesdallas » Saturday, 27 December 2014, 17:53 PM

Haven't use one of those things since the 70's...Only problem I can remember with them was sometimes the copper contacts would not make a good contact and loose power to the radio or antenna...It was like the two halfs of the mount didn't always line up right.
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7415
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 27 December 2014, 18:13 PM

I have them in my pickup so I can change out radios easier, only use them for power to the low output radios and the speaker/pa connections, I prefer to hook/unhook the PL259 connection. The higher output radios have "Anderson Power Plugs" on them.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




User avatar
wild willy
Donor
Donor
Posts: 142
Joined: Saturday, 10 August 2013, 20:32 PM
Radio: Many Different
Antenna: SS Whip, Dipole
Name: Bill
Location: Baltimore For Now

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by wild willy » Saturday, 17 January 2015, 16:03 PM

MDYoungblood wrote:I have them in my pickup so I can change out radios easier, only use them for power to the low output radios and the speaker/pa connections, I prefer to hook/unhook the PL259 connection. The higher output radios have "Anderson Power Plugs" on them.

3's

Greg
I just bought some Anderson connectors. I really like them.
Piledriver on AM, 514 Baltimore...Member since 2009, but they can't fix it.











I know just enough not to work on my own radios!



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7415
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Slide Mount - Signal Loss?

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 17 January 2015, 17:00 PM

Anderson Power Plugs are the only way to go if you have to remove your radio, I have had to repair a few radios because of using the plug on the back. They come in all colors, I use red and black naturally for power, green for ground, orange (PA) and blue for speakers.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest