Image

Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

This is the place to get help with batteries, alternators, and charging system's.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
projectcop
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 117
Joined: Monday, 16 February 2015, 17:41 PM
Radio: Cobra 148F
Antenna: Predator 10K
Name: George
Location: N. California

Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by projectcop » Sunday, 14 June 2015, 3:33 AM

Hi all;
I am getting ready to do a radio install in my 98 corvette. I am considering running a 4 pill amp (wont use it a lot) along with a cobra 148. I have worked out in my mind all of the things I need to do a no-hole install.
My only question is about the alternator. The alternator in my car is rated at 105 amps; and the optional alternators available from the factory were 120 and 140 amps. I have seen up to 200 amp alternators on-line available for this car.
Will my 105 handle a 4 pill? Or should I get a higher amp alternator? And if so, which one? I know that if I use a bigger alternator, I should use a heavier guage charge wire, but how big?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks all
73's....
"Sorry Ma'm; a slight negligence in his up-bringing"
John Wayne




User avatar
015reddog
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 253
Joined: Saturday, 12 September 2009, 5:37 AM
Radio: Mudduck Junk
Antenna: Coathanger
Name: REd
Location: Under The Bridge
Referrals: 1

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by 015reddog » Sunday, 14 June 2015, 4:40 AM

I'm pretty sure you would need to go bigger. The question is how big? I am thinking about changing the alt in my car from about the same as yours to a 200 amp. I'm thinking at least 50 amps more than what your car needs by itself. I'll be running a 1x4 in mine. I'm sure someone that knows more than I do will chime in soon.
CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW?

Image



User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7383
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by MDYoungblood » Sunday, 14 June 2015, 7:34 AM

I believe I would rethink a 4 pill and go with a 2 pill instead. The electronics in the 98 Vette' aren't shielded well to begin with, keying a 4 pill might stop it in its tracks. Your main concern should be to get the antenna problem straightened out first.
Yes go with a bigger alternator, let the battery start the car and then the alternator run it.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD Image WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment

ImageImageImage
Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department
Base
Uniden Washington
Mobile
Texas Ranger TR-696FD1C
Handheld
Maxon HCB-40WX
Antennas
Avanti Sigma II
Hustler 102" SS Whip and Hustler Ball Mount



User avatar
ogdoa
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 122
Joined: Monday, 28 December 2009, 8:43 AM
Radio: Cobra 2000/RCI2970
Antenna: Maco v5000/102"
Name: Rob 151

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by ogdoa » Sunday, 14 June 2015, 8:46 AM

All that fiberglass aint going to shield anything and if its a newer one you may have computer problems. Someone told me that I would have problems running one in my explorer because of shielding....I can just imagine how much worse it would be in a vette.
Sometimes you feel like a duck....sometimes you dont.
151 FRIED CHICKEN
Branson, MO
Home channel
26.845



User avatar
PA629
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 868
Joined: Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 23:49 PM
Location: NW PA

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by PA629 » Sunday, 14 June 2015, 10:52 AM

My experience FWIW.

I have a 4x2879 Class C comp-style amp driven by a dual final Galaxy export radio. This same set-up was used in two different vehicles. The first was a 4 cylinder Dodge sedan with a small CCA battery, 95A alternator, and 8 ga. wiring direct to the battery. The second vehicle was a 6 cyl. Chevy SUV with a larger CCA battery, 150A alternator, and 4 ga. wiring, also direct to battery. The output wattage was exactly the same for each vehicle, as observed using the same meter for both. You can draw your own conclusion, YMMV. :icon_e_wink:
Base: Galaxy DX2517, D104 Silver Eagle w/W2ENY element, SB 220, Imax 2000, 4 element quad
Mobile: Galaxy 95T2, Astatic 575-M6, Sirio P-5000 Performer, Unmentionable 4x2879




User avatar
projectcop
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 117
Joined: Monday, 16 February 2015, 17:41 PM
Radio: Cobra 148F
Antenna: Predator 10K
Name: George
Location: N. California

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by projectcop » Tuesday, 16 June 2015, 7:46 AM

Hmmm,
I do have an older 2 pill lying around here somewhere; but maybe I'll just run the 148F with the RFX85. The antenna issue will be solved by putting a trailer hitch on the car and attaching the antenna directly to the hitch, so that should work out ok.
I'm wondering if a bunch of ferrite cores on the coax would help?
"Sorry Ma'm; a slight negligence in his up-bringing"
John Wayne



User avatar
southwind
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 211
Joined: Thursday, 06 March 2014, 20:03 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Shakespeare BigStick
Name: David g.
Location: Monroe, Georgia USA

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by southwind » Tuesday, 16 June 2015, 20:19 PM

:bounce: A lot of good suggestions here, but with a good antenna system and either 6 or 8 gauge wire, you should be able to skip with no problem. With a good pounding radio and close to 100 watts you should have a good mobile set-up and less potential problems. JMHO. :cheers:
AKA Tripple Nickel, DX 555. Base station-Uniden Washington, Philippines made, D-104 Tug 8 , Silver Eagle 200/Pyramid Gold Series Variable 26 amp, through "Old Reliable Shakespeare BigStick"... Mobile-148gtl, Cobra 25, NMO firestik.

USAF 1959-1963/ John F. Kennedy Innaguration parade 1961.




Image Image



User avatar
1206FL
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 574
Joined: Friday, 30 January 2015, 3:23 AM

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by 1206FL » Wednesday, 17 June 2015, 3:36 AM

Don't use an rfx85 if you can help it. If you intend to go that route get the rfx150. Much easier to install. Gotta have fans on the back though. JMHO.

User avatar
KP68
Donor
Donor
Posts: 201
Joined: Thursday, 01 November 2012, 15:21 PM
Radio: KP68's Black Beauty
Antenna: Maco M105C Mr Coily
Name: Ken
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: Q about amperage to run a 4 pill

Post by KP68 » Wednesday, 17 June 2015, 22:20 PM

All depends on how hard you're going to drive the amp. If you're going to run it like most CB'ers, as a general rule of thumb, roughly 20 amps per pill. (2879's.)


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest