Image

running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

This is the place to get help with batteries, alternators, and charging system's.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
bazookajoe
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 105
Joined: Thursday, 22 September 2005, 11:06 AM
Radio: Magnum S9
Name: John
Location: Valrico, fl

running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by bazookajoe » Tuesday, 18 January 2011, 18:47 PM

hello,

i will add pics later.

the amps are = 3 pill driving straight 12 pill.

i have been using this setup for 2 months now and it works great.. i have 0 gauge wire running from under hood battery. battery box in back of truck has one 12 volt and two 6 volts. i used 2 heavy solenoids and a 12 volt relay to turn them on. in normal mode the solenoids tie the 6 volts together with the 12 volt charging system and charge. the amps are running on stock volts with front battery back battery and the two 6 volts tied together. when i flip the switch in the cab, the solenoids remove one of the 6 volts from the system, and ties the other 6 volt in series with the 12 volt system and both amps are now on high voltage. it floats at 21 volts, and under full load of both amps it holds at 19 volts. i have been using it for at least 5 hours a day seven days a week.

i have 1.3 swr and less than 25 watts reflect with both amps on 19 volts.. does not get any warmer than normal, and seems to be very dependable. :bounce:
Magnum S9
Fatboy 3 pill 20 Volts
Davemade 12 Pill, 20 Volts




User avatar
The Killer
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 23
Joined: Saturday, 13 June 2009, 12:05 PM
Radio: CX 3400
Name: ken
Location: Portland Oregon

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by The Killer » Tuesday, 18 January 2011, 18:56 PM

nice idea! im interested in seeing how you have it all wired up 8)

User avatar
linx
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 8986
Joined: Wednesday, 02 May 2007, 17:25 PM
Radio: 2 tin cans + string
Name: Rob
Location: Nashville, TN
Referrals: 6
Contact:

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by linx » Tuesday, 18 January 2011, 19:28 PM

I used the 6v setup for a couple of years and it works great. My truck charged at 14.6V. I wired it into a 6v and got 20.6V to the amp. From 13V or so, it will double the output power of the amp.

Nice write up.
Admin - CBRT Complaints Department
We encourage all users to support our sponsors. We believe our sponsors are the best out there.
Be sure to tell them you saw their name on CBRadioTalk.
Support our fine sponsors!
VOTE FOR CBRT TODAY!
Image
CBRT ON TWITTER!!!
My Twitter Too
Image



User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5792
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by jessejamesdallas » Tuesday, 18 January 2011, 19:32 PM

The Killer wrote:nice idea! im interested in seeing how you have it all wired up 8)
"Been there...Done that..."

I'm more interested on how much longer that Amp is going to last at those volts! :mrgreen:
But your right about one thing...You will see some impressive numbers for a while.
Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.



User avatar
bazookajoe
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 105
Joined: Thursday, 22 September 2005, 11:06 AM
Radio: Magnum S9
Name: John
Location: Valrico, fl

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by bazookajoe » Tuesday, 18 January 2011, 20:36 PM

i dont always run it on the high voltage.. i just like to be able to charge my 6 volts without having to use a seperate charger or switch wires back and fourth.
with the flip of a switch i can volt or not volt, and the way i run it with low keys and let it swing.. it will be ok as long as i keep the reflect down.. my other amps have never gave me any trouble ran them on volts for years and years, and never had a blown pill yet..... :mrgreen:
Magnum S9
Fatboy 3 pill 20 Volts
Davemade 12 Pill, 20 Volts




User avatar
'Doc
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5819
Joined: Saturday, 06 December 2008, 5:44 AM
Location: Oklahoma
Referrals: 1

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by 'Doc » Wednesday, 19 January 2011, 5:12 AM

I would have to say that so far you've been very lucky. Hope you continue to be.
- 'Doc

User avatar
drdx
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wednesday, 25 April 2007, 11:32 AM

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by drdx » Wednesday, 19 January 2011, 13:36 PM

So, since it is a working model, what kind of numbers are you seeing and what drive levels are we talking about? What kinda meter? Are all of the amps volted or just the 12? I know that anytime you post numbers folks get all wound up but just a ballpark is nice. I know I'm wondering what kind of jump you see from stock to volted. Thanks for posting this. We've had this conversation on here before but this is the first I've seen posted where it has provision for the 6v batteries to charge. I think the other guys have to trickle charge their 6v batteries at the house or something but your deal is more self contained. Doubling the power is a good half s-unit, not worth it for some but all the difference in the world if you're really in a slugfest for bragging rights.

-drdx
Yes it's me, Dollar-98, drdx, the original all *Censored*, shot cawla on workin this no-fade technology.

-drdx



User avatar
bazookajoe
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 105
Joined: Thursday, 22 September 2005, 11:06 AM
Radio: Magnum S9
Name: John
Location: Valrico, fl

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by bazookajoe » Saturday, 19 February 2011, 21:49 PM

i keep getting errors when i try and post the pics can anyone post these for me if i mail them ?
Magnum S9
Fatboy 3 pill 20 Volts
Davemade 12 Pill, 20 Volts



User avatar
Radio 75
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 434
Joined: Tuesday, 21 September 2010, 17:30 PM
Radio: Kraco DeLuxe
Name: Greg
Location: Dakota Territory

Re: running high voltage without a high dollar motormaul

Post by Radio 75 » Sunday, 20 February 2011, 12:40 PM

bazookajoe wrote:i keep getting errors when i try and post the pics can anyone post these for me if i mail them ?
how about making a Photobucket account and just post the URL?
Image
RadioActive Since 1975
(Bozo was only 1 year old in 1975)
(that should explain a few things)




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest