Image

How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

This is the place to get help with batteries, alternators, and charging system's.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Jeremie
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: Friday, 20 August 2010, 2:26 AM
Name: Jeremie

How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by Jeremie » Friday, 20 August 2010, 3:46 AM

Say it is a all stock charging system, 2001 Pete 379. Would 1000w-1400w be too much for it to handle? It will be a 4 pill driving a 8 pill, 2 ga wire direct from the battery (fused), grounded to the frame, double shielded coax, twin predator 10K's. The setup does fine now with a Connex 4300-300, but adding the 8 pill is really stepping it up. Any thoughts?


User avatar
shooter
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 170
Joined: Thursday, 19 February 2009, 12:00 PM
Name: chris

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by shooter » Friday, 20 August 2010, 6:04 AM

4 pill driving 8 pill = expensive smoke . the general rule of thumb is a 1 to 4 ratio . so if you have an 8 pill amp you would like to have a 2 pill driver .
i dont know about the charging system in a truck like that . im sure someone will offer some help there .
welcome to the forum , lots of good info. to be had here .

762 in the buckeye

User avatar
721HACKSAW
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1566
Joined: Monday, 25 February 2008, 10:43 AM

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by 721HACKSAW » Friday, 20 August 2010, 7:12 AM

There are more people on here that will have more knowledge than me. I would just use the Connex to drive the 8-pill, you will need to have the right DK for the application.

User avatar
'Doc
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5819
Joined: Saturday, 06 December 2008, 5:44 AM
Location: Oklahoma
Referrals: 1

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by 'Doc » Friday, 20 August 2010, 7:15 AM

It sort of depends on the amount of electrical 'storage' you have, batteries. The vehicle's charging system would have to recharge those storage devices, so would be working harder no matter how large the generator/alternator. Keeping things 'short-n-sweet' with transmitting is the 'key' to that. And finding places to put those extra batteries.
You can also count on 'up-grading' the antenna system. No idea what you may be using now, but that amount of power requires a substantial 'bump' in everything that will have to carry that power. The power ratings for antennas and feed lines and stuff are more of a 'guess' than actual fact. It depends on tuning to a large extent. What you can 'get by with' at lower power just won't 'cut it' at higher power levels.
Oh well, if it were simple/easy, everybody would be doing it, right??
- 'Doc

User avatar
goofy
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 171
Joined: Monday, 19 July 2010, 19:46 PM
Name: d sc

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by goofy » Friday, 20 August 2010, 9:25 AM

I'm just curious, no offense meant, but why are you doing this?

I've never understood why anyone would need to run an 8 pill amp in a mobile, unless you are into competitions and the like...

If you can't get heard on channel 19 with a 4-pill, well your area operators must be a lot more abusive than they are around here...


User avatar
Jeremie
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: Friday, 20 August 2010, 2:26 AM
Name: Jeremie

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by Jeremie » Friday, 20 August 2010, 10:48 AM

I'm just doing it to go bigger. You know how it goes, everyone always wants something one step better. I'm fairly sure the coax/antenna's will handle the power. The twin predator 10K's should be good enough and I have good double shielded coax as well. 2 gauge wire to feed the Messenger 8 pill.

The 4 pill is the connex btw. Not a big 4 pill but you know. We figure the connex is about 280w or so (being realistic) and the 8 pill is 960. So I guess really all I'm wiring in is the 8 pill. I've never really messed with big boxes other than some 100w to 400w texas stars and a old galaxy box. So I'm looking at all this as if I've never done it before.

User avatar
479tx
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 233
Joined: Saturday, 20 June 2009, 17:59 PM

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by 479tx » Friday, 20 August 2010, 21:42 PM

goofy wrote: If you can't get heard on channel 19 with a 4-pill, well your area operators must be a lot more abusive than they are around here...
Obviously you've never been to Houston, TX and read the mail on 27.185 AM during the weekday rush hours (8-10am drive in to work and 5-7pm drive home)... The "ducks" run 2x4's...

User avatar
big boone
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 26
Joined: Saturday, 15 May 2010, 15:34 PM
Radio: connex\cobra\washing
Name: james
Location: the hills of east tennessee

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by big boone » Saturday, 21 August 2010, 19:28 PM

I'M running a T/S Sweet Sixteen pushed by a Palomar Modulator in my cornbinder with a stock charging system. All of my trucks eletrical system runs off one end of the row of (3) batteries. All my radio runs off the other end of the row. As of one month of useing the Sixteen ive had no trouble at all. just for the record i use the Modulator most of the time, but when the going gets tough the Sixteen comes on! :aaargh:
444 From the hills of E. Tennessee the original gateway to the west!



User avatar
Jeremie
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: Friday, 20 August 2010, 2:26 AM
Name: Jeremie

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by Jeremie » Saturday, 21 August 2010, 19:47 PM

I dunno. I'm on the fence about putting it all together after boss man said if I burn it up.. I bought it. I really don't want to afford peterbilt parts...

User avatar
shooter
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 170
Joined: Thursday, 19 February 2009, 12:00 PM
Name: chris

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by shooter » Saturday, 21 August 2010, 20:35 PM

im guessing peterbuilt parts are not very cheap ...................
my lil chevy parts cost like a mercedes anymore .
and most of them are made in freakin' mexico !

sad

User avatar
Jeremie
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 11
Joined: Friday, 20 August 2010, 2:26 AM
Name: Jeremie

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by Jeremie » Saturday, 21 August 2010, 20:40 PM

It is sad.. and no they are not cheap at all. Mostly because of the name.

User avatar
hou26guy
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 101
Joined: Saturday, 23 January 2010, 18:32 PM
Radio: cobra 29
Antenna: tram
Name: harold
Contact:

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by hou26guy » Friday, 29 October 2010, 8:18 AM

hey im from houston so i know what u mean im one of the big talkers there handle 3rd ward cuney home boy. but the set up i have is a connex 3300hp and a texas star 667 and striker ant on a 09 freightliner and the rf is bad on the 667 make gauges go crazy sometimes. but when i had a palomar 450 elite hd on it no gauge problem. but yea i think u will be doing it big when u come thru houston with just the radio pushing that 8 pill with the right dead key and swing depending on that 8 pill if its just a straight vs 1 or 2 driving the 7 or 8 pill

User avatar
dragline
Donor
Donor
Posts: 315
Joined: Tuesday, 28 October 2008, 17:13 PM
Radio: connex
Name: monti

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by dragline » Monday, 06 December 2010, 19:36 PM

You could run the 8 pill in the truck as I've ran the "other" brand 8 pill in a similar truck. You won't get the maximum output due to the 130 ish amp alt on the truck. Me personally would stay away from using that radio to drive it. Also personally I wouldn't try to co phase those 10k's. Ground everything and go back and make sure everything is grounded. So... who cares if you don't push the 8 pill to the max, you will have lots of life just cruising it.

User avatar
beef15
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 20
Joined: Saturday, 20 November 2010, 12:33 PM
Radio: Cobra 29NWWXBT
Name: Gus
Location: Fairbanks, AK

Re: How big is too big for a stock trucks electrical system

Post by beef15 » Monday, 06 December 2010, 20:02 PM

W=VA so 100A alt @ 13V nom. =1300W Its a diesel so you're not sapping amps for ignition, hvac, lights, and the ecm draw a fair amount, but 100A is just for demonstration. On the your alternator there's probably a sticker that says what it puts out, I'd bet its between 160A and 200A, the truck probably has three or four 500CCA or better batteries, that's allot of reserve, but you don't want to full field your alternator all the time charging them back up, it won't last, I think you'll be ok though. Think about it, the alternator in a Honda civic with one battery can drive a 1500W stereo amp.


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest