running an amp off the alternator?

This forum is the place to seek assistance with batteries, alternators, and charging systems.
the_junkie

running an amp off the alternator?

Post by the_junkie »

I know that one of the locals does it, but could I, say, run a 4 or 6 pill directly off of an alternator? with possibly an inline voltage regulator?

I'm just curious, because if that is possible, I may consider doing that with my newly planned charging system
ringer
Skipshooter
Skipshooter

Post by ringer »

the alterator isn't a power source
the_junkie

Post by the_junkie »

ringer wrote:the alterator isn't a power source
if that is the case, then how is his amp working ? I don't know about the subject myself, i'm no mechanic, but he is gettin about 1 kw out of his 4 pill straight off the alternator. He also has a farad cap inline, which I was told won't work for cb amps...

but it screams! lol
TheTeZ

Post by TheTeZ »

not a power supply....? doesnt the alternator create current?
this is an honest question....... not a "shut up stupid your wrong" because i honestly dont know...

anyway...
i would think you would need a high idle alternator because, when your not moving, the thing may not put out enough power to power your amp..... and dont expect to run the amp when the vehicle is off....

(if even possible)
bettyboop

Post by bettyboop »

Think about it junkie. You answered your own question. What is the difference between your buddy and you.
You sit there and type (He gets out great). WOW!
Foxhunter
Donor
Donor
Radio: Fisher-Price

Post by Foxhunter »

Most guys will stay away from the alternator as a direct power source. The noise & interference it generates directly is not radio-friendly.